top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenny Belsan

Fried Cheese? Yes, Please!

It's been awhile since my last food blog and I have eaten many, many amazing foods since then that I need to share with you all. This blog will be a mix up of different places.

Here's what you all came here for: the fried cheese. It is exactly what it sounds like- a block of cheese deep fried. We were looking for a meal during a Friday in Lent and were glancing over menus posted outside of restaurants while in Prague. One of my friends spotted a place that served something called fried cheese, which sounded vegetarian, so, we all piled in and ordered it. I don't know what were we expecting, but it wasn't this monstrosity of a mozzarella stick. I certainly wasn't mad about it though, it was amazing! Tip to self: Don't eat a whole block of fried cheese before having to walk 2 miles back to your hostel, your body will hate you.

The cheese literally never ended

One of the main food items being served at the Easter markets in Prague were paprika hotdogs and kabobs. In the photo, Paige and I (two on the left) are eating paprika kabobs, which we were calling kabob-dogs, while Fav and Zach (two on the right) are eating paprika hotdogs. The kabob-dogs consisted of chicken, green peppers, and onions which were grilled to perfection and seasoned with paprika. The hotdogs were more like sausages seasoned with paprika. They were both served in baguettes since they were so big. While eating these, we realized paprika fixes everything. Both the kabob-dogs and hotdogs were amazingly delicious and now we find ourselves ordering items on menus whenever they say paprika.

Here I am eating one of the Czechs' favorite sweets- the kolach. The one I am eating in the picture is cheesecake flavored. Kolaches are offered at basically every bakery I've been to and are so so tasty. Since my family is Czech, I have had countless kolaches made by my Grandma Belsan, Grandpa Zadina, and at Czech festivals in Dwight, Nebraska already so this wasn't a new desert to me. It's one that had to be shared though because of how delicious and popular it is. I'd also like to applaud my Grandma and Grandpa for making their kolaches taste so similar to the ones in the Czech.


I had this delicious meal in Dresden, Germany. I knew I had to have sausage and sauerkraut in Germany or I was doing it wrong. The sausage was cooked to perfection- crisp on the outside and juicy on the inside. The mashed potatoes were just like I like them- super buttery and smooth with no potato chunks in it. I really enjoyed the sauerkraut as well. Its weird because I hate sauerkraut whenever I have it in America, but love it in Germany. I guess they have just mastered the art of making sauerkraut since they have been working on it for so long.

The Czechs are kind of obsessed with hardboiled eggs and I'm all for it. This is a piece of whole grain bread with egg salad spread onto it and topped with hardboiled eggs and tomatoes. I've seen this being served at cafes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, though I would say this is mostly a popular breakfast item. I included this in my food blog because egg based meals like these have started to become a staple in my diet.

A new favorite of mine in Olomouc, Czech Republic is a place called Fancy Fries. You know all their fries are fresh because they cut up the potato and then throw it in the fryer right in front of you. They have tons of unique sauces and toppings to customize your fries such as a signature sauce (which tastes similar to Cane's Sauce), sour cream, and plum jam just to name a few. These fries have been a great substitute for dinner on those nights I'm not super hungry.


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page